2nd CT Scan

Just when chemo finishes and I start to feel normal again, just when I actually have more than a day without thinking too much about the C word, I find out I have another CT Scan! 

The worst thing is I need a cannula in despite having a hickman line (as veins are brown and hard and have given up basically). I dreaded this appointment so much because I knew they would struggle to get a vein. 

This is what my arm looks like now I think it will always be indented like this 

The guy who dud the ct scan took five attempts which is quite a lot but I expected worse. He ended up giving me the dye through the veins in my wrist. 

It was all over within half an hour but I felt completely helpless. Sometimes you have to just surrender yourself to nurses and trust that you will be okay but it’s such a scary feeling. 

The day after my CT Scan I read a girl on the forum had just found the cancer had spread elsewhere and was now stage 4 metastatic cancer. 

To know that on my results day I could be told the same is terrifying. I am having the scan to look at the progress of a suspect lymphnode. The lymphnode is under a muscle in my chest and appeared larger than usual after my operation. The surgeon thought it should be removed but the oncologists thought it was just a reaction from my operation. 

I am not sure what the next steps are but it is worrying. I think anyone would be worried getting results from a scan especially after a cancer diagnosis. Hopefully all is well, I’ll certainly keep thinking positive and try not to worry. I’m keeping busy with work, school runs and chasing after the dog all day ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Update 18 March 2017 – results from ct scan were three weeks late so I had major scan-xiety. Luckily it hasn’t spread however lymphnode under operation site has gone from 7mm to 4mm it may have reduced on its own however chemo may have reduced it. If chemo reduced it then it could be cancer! 

They plan to do rads and that’s it, hope for the best! I wasn’t even offered another ct scan to check on it again! I disputed this and she agreed I could approach my surgeon to see if he would remove it however its upper chest and they would have to cut away muscle to find it and risk cutting a blood vessel. I am not sure what to do ๐Ÿ˜ข 

I have recently found someone who has had similar and had it successfully removed. This gives me hope but I’ll have to see what the surgeon says. 

9 thoughts on “2nd CT Scan

  1. Hi Tracey, I know it is a worrying time for you as I have had similar anxiety when it comes to waiting for CT scan. The only advice I can give is to keep busy . That worked for me when I was waiting for results of a second CT scan as the first time I was so anxious I didn’t sleep at all. I am now nearly four years since a recurrence and was first diagnosed at 31yrs nearly 18 years ago. Best wishes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s amazing to hear your a long term survivor of triple negative ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the advice I was 32 on diagnosis feel so young to be going through all this crap. I’m looking forward to reading your blog xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you I have been doing well I’m on holiday right now which is lovely. I did have a bit of a wobble when I read some statistics today but I’ll be okay new normal is hard to get used to! Xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

